Skip to Main Content
EvCC banner with photo of library stacks.

Library Media Services (Archived): Ask a Librarian

Library services for students and faculty

Ask an EvCC Librarian

ASK

Cascade LRC, 3rd floor

Phone: 425-388-9354

Email: library@everettcc.edu

Library Hours

April 7 - June 18, 2025
Monday - Thursday: 8 am - 7 pm
Friday: 8 am - 5 pm
Saturday: 10 am - 2 pm

Doors are locked 15 minutes before closing

Closed Sunday and holidays. Check the Library Home Page for the latest updates on hours.

Contact Us

Looking for a specific librarian or staff member? Check the Staff Directory page.

Frequently Asked Database Questions

Click the question to see the answer

 

What's my login for the library databases? Enter the same username and password as you use for Canvas, MyEvCC, and the campus computers. This login expires every 180 days. It can be reset at MyAccount.

 

Why can’t I sign into the databases?
  • Did you access the database directly through the library website?
  • Are you using your campus (Canvas) network username and password?
  • Are you a student or employee this quarter?
  • If your password is more than 180 days old or you're using certain special characters, you will receive an error message. Reset your password at My Account. Use a question mark (?) or exclamation point (!) as your special character. This will also change your password for Canvas, student email and campus computers. Technology Services can assist if you have any issues resetting your password.
  • The server or databases may be temporarily down. Try again later.

 

Why can’t I see the full-text of an article?
  • Some databases provide citations only for some periodicals.
  • If you’re using Primo and can’t get the article, try going directly to the database instead.
  • Use interlibrary loan to get a copy of an article not in full-text in our databases.

 

Frequently Asked Technology Check-Out Questions

Click the question to see the answer

 

When can I check out a computer for the quarter? The library often has early tech check-out days the week before the quarter starts. See the library home page for early check-out hours. Technology can also be checked out throughout the quarter if available.

 

How much does it cost to rent a computer? Netbooks are available for $20 quarterly loan and Chromebooks are free to students enrolled the current quarter.

 

Do you lend Wi-Fi hotspots? Hotspots are available for $15 quarterly loan at the Circulation Desk on a first come, first serve basis to students enrolled the current quarter.

 

Does the library loan calculators? Graphing calculators can be rented for $20/quarter. Scientific calculators are available for free, quarterly check-out.

 

How do I pay technology rental or lost-item fees? The fee will appear in your ctcLink account a few days after you check out the items. Pay in ctcLink by following these directions. Questions about making payments can be directed to the Cashiers Office at 425-388-9225 or cashier@everettcc.edu

 

When is my Chromebook, netbook or hotspot due? Can I renew it? Technology items, including Chromebooks, hotspots, netbooks and graphing calculators, are due on the last day of the quarter. Renewals are not available.

 

Does the library charge fines for returning items late? There is a $20 fine for technology items returned late. However, if an item is not returned at all or is damaged, borrowers will be responsible for the full cost of the item. That charge will be sent to collections if left unpaid.

Refer to the Technology Lending Agreement for more details about technology borrowing procedures.

 

Frequently Asked General Library Questions

Click the question to see the answer

 

Can I borrow my class textbooks from the library? We have some textbooks available for use in the library only. Check availability in Primo OneSearch or consult a librarian in-person at the Cascade LRC, 3rd floor, via email at library@everettcc.edu or by phone at 425-388-9354.

 

How do I find out what textbooks I need for my classes? Visit the college bookstore website to view information or purchase textbooks. You’ll need your class number, such as English 101, and the 5-digit class item number.

 

Does the library have study rooms for student use? The Cascade Learning Resource Center has reservable group study rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors with whiteboards and large screens. Reservations can be made up to 2 weeks in advance for up to 4 hours/week per group. Three group study rooms are first-come, first-serve, including one priority use room for families and another for media (VHS/DVD) viewing.

First-come, first serve individual study rooms are available on the 3rd floor with two rooms set aside as priority use for media (VHS/DVD) viewing.

 

Where can I print on campus?

 

Can I use the library if I'm not a student? Anyone can visit the library, browse the collection, and use the free WiFi. Community borrowers pay an annual fee of $22 to the EvCC Cashiers Office to be allowed to check-out materials. Use of the desktop computers and printers/copiers is not available for community borrowers.