LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Books & Journals

eBooks

Access with your campus network username and password.

EBSCO eBooks
More than 250,000 ebooks on a wide variety of subjects. Printing and downloading rights vary by publisher.
Gale eBooks
Full-text eBooks in the arts, sciences, and social sciences with tools to translate text into 40 languages or read it aloud.
Overdrive (Libby)
Downloadable audiobooks and ebooks. Can also be accessed via the Libby app.
Primo OneSearch
Search books and media items available in our library and online. May link to sources of full-text articles.
Salem Press Online Collection
eBooks that cover literary criticism, history, science and career exploration.

eJournals

Digital Commons Network
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of colleges and universities around the world. Includes some book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and other scholarly materials.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
"The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."

eBooks

These eBooks and audio books are available to anyone with Internet access.

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
52 works published by the Digital Schomburg collection, NYPL.
Best Websites for Free Audiobooks
Links and descriptions of 10 sites for free audio books.
Bookshare
Customized ebooks in audio, audio + highlighted text, braille, large font, and other formats. Available only for individuals with a qualifying disability that affects their ability to read printed works.
Free eBooks
Over a million ebooks in EPUB format.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search millions of digitized titles.
Internet Archive
Millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Internet Classics Archive
"Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and 'reader's choice' Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation."
LibriVox Audio Books
Free dowloadable audiobooks (published before 1923) in mp3 and ogg format.
Making of America
10,000 books and 50,000 articles on American social history
ManyBooks.net
Over 29,000 eBooks (published before 1923) available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and other eReaders. Books can be searched or browsed by subject.
Online Books Page
More than a million ebooks (40,000 in a curated collection) available for personal use.
Open Library
Over 1 million free ebook titles to read online or download. Some books in the collection can only be read in print.
Project Gutenberg
Over 40,000 free ebooks (published before 1923): choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Standard Ebooks
Open source, free public domain books that have been beautifully formatted.
Virgo - University of Virginia
Thousands of humanities digital texts.