Open Educational Resources (OER): Create OER

This guide includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.

Design tips and tools from the College Libraries Ontario.

Tips from the University System of Georgia.

A guide from Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Guide from Washington State University.

Free course through the Open University.

Handbook for faculty interested in involving students in the making of open textbooks or other OER materials.

Guide for instructors wishing to use or create OER from Iowa State Digital Press.

Includes worksheets to help instructors practice the skills needed to find, use, and create open educational resources (OER).

A community of volunteers providing free online and face-to-face training on the meaning, application, and impact of “openness” in the digital age.

A reference for those wanting to write and self-publish an open textbook from BCcampus.

An open source project that enables sharing and distribution of interactive digital content anywhere on any device, and on any digital learning system.

Guide from Queen's University Library,

Free drawing and design tool.

Free and open source office suite: Writer (word processing), Calc (spreadsheets), Impress (presentations), Draw (vector graphics and flowcharts), Base (databases), and Math (formula editing).

Basic and more advanced authoring tools chosen by the University of Texas Libraries.

Content creation tool from OER Commons.

Available free on the Mac App Store. Create digital books with added images, movies, audio, charts and shapes.

Free photo editor available in easy-to-use and pro versions.

Open-source, collaborative publishing platform with free and fee options.

Includes a guide to publishing open textbooks, consultations, and a discussion board to connect with others doing similar work.

Create or adapt mage collections, adding interactive elements, assignments, and quizzes.

From the University of Alberta OER Starter Kit, recommended OER creation tools arranged from low to high tech.

Tutorial on uploading videos.

Includes examples, standards, tips and further resources.

eBook with resources to help content creators develop an accessible, open textbook.

A collection of accessible tools, standards, organizations, policies and training.

Chapter from eBook by Iowa State University Digital Press.

PowerPoint slides and a handout from a presentation on integrating practices of integrating Universal Design for Learning and Open Education principles and materials into Canvas courses.

Guidelines for planning and running usability tests.

A project of the Orbis Cascade Alliance.

Twenty-page PDF from Portland Community College covering web accessibility, including PowerPoint slides, Word & Google documents, PDFs, video, audio, and complex images.