Skip to Main Content
EvCC banner with photo of library stacks.

Nutrition 180, Sustainable Food Systems: Welcome

Sustainable Food Systems: What to Eat and Why It Matters

What's in this guide?

fruits and vegetables
Photo courtesy of U.S. Agricultural Research Service

What’s in this guide?

  • This guide has been created as a starting point for research in your class. 
  • For research assistance, please Ask an EvCC Librarian!

Search Library Resources

   

Primo OneSearch

 

Find books, eBooks, articles and more.

 

Your Library Account   |   Journal Search   |   Advanced Search

 
 

Databases

 
NEW: Login with your campus network username and password.
 

The library subscribes to more than 70 databases. Not sure which database to choose?

Use the drop-down lists below to choose a database. (Opens a new tab.)

 

 

Search Recommended Databases

 

 

 

Search Library Databases

 

 
 

eBooks

 
NEW: Login with your campus network username and password.
 
  • Ebook Central
    More than 200,000 academic eBooks on all subjects. 

  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    More than 200,000 eBooks on a wide variety of subjects. 

  • Gale eBooks
    Online access to eBooks in the arts, sciences, and social sciences.  Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library.

  • Primo OneSearch
    Our library catalog includes a search discovery service that helps users locate eBooks.

  • Salem Press Online Collection
    Access to books available online and in print at the EvCC Library. Books cover literary criticism, history, science and career exploration.
 

Streaming

 
NEW: Login with your campus network username and password.
 
  • Films on Demand
    Streaming educational videos on a variety of subjects.

  • Kanopy
    On demand streaming service of over 30,000 films.

  • Swank
    On demand collection of feature and classic films selected to augment course studies.
 

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar searches across the WWW for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. It will  display EvCC's full-text journal access when searching from on campus or when Library Link is enabled.

If you have citation information and are looking for a particular source, use the library's Journal Search tool to access full-text articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals within the EvCC collection.

Need more help? Ask an EvCC Librarian.

 
 
 

Ask an EvCC Librarian

Library Home

Library FAQs

Librarian Prescription Form  

Database Access

Research Tips for Students

Writing Center

 

One "Perfect" Source?

Before you begin searching for information, you should develop a mental framework of how you are searching for information, and why. There are definitely mistakes that you can make in searching that may lead you to believe that no information exists on your topic, when in fact there are plenty of resources out there. Watch the video below to learn about a common pitfall in searching, and consider alternatives in thinking about the search process.

One perfect source? (NCSU Libraries)