Skip to Main Content
EvCC banner with photo of library stacks.

BIOL& 211: Welcome

What's in this guide?

What’s in this guide?

This guide has been created as a starting point for research regarding the principles of cellular biology as they apply to organisms. 

Welcome

Information Formats

Science Information Life Cycle

Using Keywords & Search Terms

Acknowledging & Citing Your Sources

Search Library Resources

   

Primo OneSearch

 

Find books, eBooks, articles and more.

 

My Library Account   |   Journal Search   |   Advanced Search

 

Featured Collections

 
 

Databases

 
Login with your Canvas Username and Password.
 

The library subscribes to more than 75 databases. Not sure which database to choose? Databases by title or subject 

Use the drop-down or list below to choose a database. 

 

 

Search Recommended Databases

 

 

mitosis AND meiosis 

(mitosis OR meiosis) AND "cell division"

 

CINAHL w/Full-text

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health

Health Source - Consumer Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association

MedicLatina

MEDLINE also called:PubMed

Science Magazine

 

 

Search Peer-Reviewed Open Source Resources

 

eBooks

 
Login with your Canvas Username and Password.
 
  • Ebook Central
    More than 200,000 academic eBooks on all subjects. 

  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    More than 200,000 eBooks on a wide variety of subjects. 

  • Gale eBooks
    Online access to eBooks in the arts, sciences, and social sciences.  Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library.

  • Primo OneSearch
    Our library catalog includes a search discovery service that helps users locate eBooks.

  • Salem Press Online Collection
    Access to books available online and in print at the EvCC Library. Books cover literary criticism, history, science and career exploration.
 

Streaming

 
Login with your Canvas Username and Password.
 
  • Films on Demand
    Streaming educational videos on a variety of subjects.

  • Kanopy
    On demand streaming service of over 30,000 films.

  • Swank
    On demand collection of feature and classic films selected to augment course studies.
 

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar searches across the WWW for scholarly materials in journals, books, and other sources. It will  display EvCC's full-text journal access when searching from on campus or when Library links is enabled. 

Need more help? Ask an EvCC Librarian.