JOURN 101 - Assignment Help - Journalism & Mass Media Studies - LibGuides at Everett Community College

EvCC History - Online Resources

Resources from the EvCC website.

About Everett Community College
A landing page with links to institutional information.
Voices of EvCC
Voices of EvCC is an oral history project created to record, share, and preserve the stories of Everett Community College students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Twenty-five people participated in March 2010.

EvCC History - EvCC Library Resources

Ali Baudoin : a portfolio. by Baudoin, Ali.
Call Number: Main Collection - N6537.B388 A4 2007

Publication Date: 2007

Everett Community College has a work by this artist in its campus sculpture collection: "Feather Star. Artist: Ali Baudoin. First installed in 1978 in the atrium of the Library, 'Feather Star' survived the 1987 fire that burned the building and melted one tip of its arching spires. Reinstalled outside the new Gary Parks Student Union on Parks Plaza, the 'Feather Star' has become a symbol of renewal and rebirth for the College. It is the inspiration for the Everett Community College logo; three spires backed by a rising sun. 'Feather Star' was presented by the Arts in New State Buildings Program in partnership with EvCC and the EvCC Foundation." [from "Campus Sculpture Collection" brochure, 2008, Everett Community College]
Everett Community College Library: Fire of February 16, 1987 by Everett Community College
Call Number: Closed Stacks - Ask at CHECK-OUT DESK -LD6501.E9 F5 1987

Publication Date: n.d.

Consists of a binder containing a selection of photocopied articles from local newspapers about the February 1987 fire. The fire destroyed the Everett Community College library/student complex and one firefighter died.
One of ours [videorecording] : young Scoop Jackson : an oral history by James, Christopher & Weller, Lloyd
Call Number: VIDEO COLLECTION (DVD) / Library Use Only - E840.8 .J33 2006

Publication Date: 2006, c1989

The Jackson Center is named for Henry "Scoop" Jackson.

Through conversations with those who knew him, chronicles the life of Henry "Scoop" Jackson from the arrival of his immigrant parents in Everett in the 1890's to his election to Congress in 1940.
Russell Day [videorecording] : living art by Coppel, Ann
Call Number: VIDEO COLLECTION (DVD) / Library Use Only - NK5198 .D391 2000

Publication Date: 2000

Focuses on Russell Day, art educator and glass artist. Discusses his work as an artist and his influence as an art educator, particularly during the period from 1948 to 1976 when he led the innovative art department at Everett Community College. Includes commentary by several of his former students, including Chuck Close.
Russell E. Day : catalyst. by Everett Community College
Call Number: Closed Stacks - Ask at CHECK-OUT DESK - N5030.E94 R87 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Russell Day was an important instructor of art at Everett Community College from the 1950's thru the 1970's. In addition he was an artistic pioneer in design, particularly jewelry and glass. He has also been a major influence on artists and crafts people from Dale Chihuly to Chuck Close. This exhibit includes an invitational exhibition of artists influenced by Russell and examples and documentation of his own work and career.
The Clipper by Associated Students of Everett Community College,
Call Number: MAGAZINE/NEWSPAPER SHELVES - Alphabetical by title

The library has:
v.2 no.1 Friday, November 10th, 1944 - vol. 3 (errata listed as 2) no.2, Friday May 25th.
v.25 no .19, Friday April 26th 1974 - current.
The day the wall came down : a dream come true. [videorecording] by Goodnight, Veryl.
Call Number: VIDEO COLLECTION (VHS) / Library Use Only - NB230.N496 D398 1993

Publication Date: 1993

A smaller model of this sculpture is on display at the Everett Community College Library Media Center.
Sculptor Veryl Goodnight is shown creating her monumental piece "The Day the Wall came down", depicting horses leaping over the ruins of the Berlin Wall. Interspersed with scenes of her working on her sculpture is newsreel footage of the history of the Wall.
Trojan [College yearbooks] by Everett Community College.
Call Number: Closed Stacks - Ask at CHECK-OUT DESK - LD1761 .E67

The library has 1941-1948, 1951-1952, 1954-1966.
Vibrations : the creative arts annual of Everett Community College. by Everett Community College
Call Number: MAGAZINE/NEWSPAPER SHELVES - Alphabetical by title

Library has:
Shelved in recent issues: 2013-2009
Shelved in back files: 1961? - 2009 (irregular)

Vibrations is Everett Community College's annual art and literary publication produced by students in the Graphic Arts 251 and 252 classes. It features work from the graphic arts, fine art, music, photography, theatre, and creative writing programs.

Founded in 1963 as a literary publication, Vibrations has remained strong and consistent in its dedication as the showcase for exceptional creative work by Everett Community College students. The mission of Vibrations is to exhibit, promote and support the art and literary works of our students.

Everett History - EPL Northwest History Room

The Everett Public Library's Northwest Room offers materials and services that enhance understanding of the Pacific Northwest region, with special collections of maps, pamphlets, oral history interviews and historic photos relating to Everett and Snohomish County history. Topics include: labor history, sawmills and logging, late nineteenth and early twentieth century photography and frontier industrialism.

Two regional history specialists are also available to help answer questions, provide programs or listen to your story. Contact us in person, by phone, mail or e-mail.

Lisa Labovitch
History Specialist
2702 Hoyt Ave.
Everett, WA 98201
T: 425-257-8005
F: 425-257-8016
E: libnw@ci.everett.wa.us

Digital Collections
Everett and Snohomish County historic photographs, manuscripts, artwork, maps and audio/video resources online. Materials digitized for searching have been drawn from the library's Northwest Room, partnering institutions and individuals. Collections are intended to tell a story and may feature the work of a particular photographer or a subject important to the study and enjoyment of Everett and Snohomish County history.
More NW History Room Links

Everett History - Online Resources

HistoryLink.org is an evolving online encyclopedia of Washington state and local history. It provides a free, authoritative, and easily accessible history reference for the benefit of students, teachers, journalists, scholars, researchers, and the general public.

Everett History - EvCC Library Resources

Everett and Snohomish County : a pictorial history by Humphrey, Robert M.
Call Number: Closed Stacks - Ask at CHECK-OUT DESK - F899.E9 H85 1984

ISBN: 1135341281

Publication Date: c1984
Everett chronology by Dilgard, David.
Call Number: REFERENCE COLLECTION (Library use only) - F899.E9 D5 1992

Publication Date: 1992

Facts and info-bytes detailing the founding and building of early Everett [to June 27, 1893]
Everett Massacre by Walker C. Smith
Call Number: REFERENCE COLLECTION (Library use only) - HD6515.L92 W35 1971

ISBN: 0306701502

Publication Date: 1971

Published in 1917 by the IWW, catalogs the workers’ efforts and defense through the reign of terror in Everett, 1916, the murder of IWW members exercising rights to free assembly and speech.
Everett, past and present : a centennial history of Everett, Washington, 1993 by O'Donnell, Lawrence E.
Call Number: MAIN BOOK COLLECTION - F899.E9 O36 1993

Publication Date: 1993

Pictorial history of Everett, WA.
History of Everett Parks : a century of service and vision by Allan May; Dale Preboski
Call Number: MAIN BOOK COLLECTION - F899.E9 M39 1989

ISBN: 0898657946

Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Memory lanes of old Everett and its East Riverside : revisited by Malstrom, Helmer.
Call Number: MAIN BOOK COLLECTION - F899.E9 M3 1986

Publication Date: c1986.
Mill Town by Norman H. Clark
Call Number: MAIN BOOK COLLECTION - F899.E9 C55

ISBN: 9780295952413

Publication Date: 1970-01-01

A social history of Everett, Washington, from its earliest beginnings to the tragic and infamous event on November 5, 1916, which came to be known as the Everett Massacre.
Riverside remembers : books I, II & III. by Greater Riverside Organization
Call Number: MAIN BOOK COLLECTION - F899.E84 R58 1987

Publication Date: 1987

Stories of Everett's Greater Riverside area.
Voices from Everett's first century. by Snohomish County Museum and Historical Association
Call Number: MAIN BOOK COLLECTION - F899.E9 V64 1994

Publication Date: 1994

Illustrated with b/w historical photos of Everett and Snohomish County.

Journalism & Mass Media Studies: JOURN 101 - Assignment Help

EvCC History - Online Resources

EvCC History - EvCC Library Resources

Everett History - EPL Northwest History Room

Everett History - Online Resources

Everett History - EvCC Library Resources