CL101: Introduction to Computers - Krista McClimans: Books at EvCC Library which you may borrow

"Learn the most sought-after features of Microsoft's Office 2013 suite with this rich resource." from Amazon

Beginner's guide to Linux

"Aimed at providing you with a solid foundation in programming with C++, this new edition incorporates programming exercises with helpful self-check questions that reinforce the concepts discussed throughout the book. You’ll benefit from the how-to sections that show you how concepts are applied and advanced materials are featured on the accompanying Web site when you’re ready to take your programming skills to the next level." from Amazon

"This book enables readers to quickly develop a working knowledge of HTML, JavaScript and PHP. The text emphasizes a hands-on approach to learning and makes extensive use of examples. A detailed science, engineering, or mathematics background is not required to understand the material, making the book ideally suitable for self-study or an introductory course in programming. Features: describes the creation and use of HTML documents; presents fundamental concepts of client-side and server-side programming languages; examines JavaScript and PHP implementation of arrays, built-in and user-defined methods and functions, math capabilities, and input processing with HTML forms; extends programming fundamentals to include reading and writing server-based files, command-line interfaces, and an introduction to GD graphics; appendices include a brief introduction to using a “pseudocode” approach to organizing solutions to computing problems; includes a Glossary and an extensive set of programming exercises." from Amazon

"Unlike most other database programming books, which discuss and present database programming techniques through huge blocks of programming code, this book uses a unique writing style to show readers how to develop professional and practical database programs using Visual Basic.NET 2005 Design Tools and Wizards related to ADO.NET 2.0, and to apply codes that are auto-generated by using Wizards. Avoiding overly large blocks of code, the book shows a simple and easy way to create database programs and enable the reader to build professional and practical databases more efficiently. In addition to Design Tools and Wizards, the runtime object method is also discussed and analyzed to allow users to design and implement more sophisticated data-driven applications with complicated coding techniques. Three popular database systems - Microsoft Access, SQL Server 2005, and Oracle Database 10g Express Edition (XE) - are discussed in detail, with practical examples and sample projects. This book will attract college students, programmers, and software engineers alike. Sample code and additional exercise questions for students, as well as solutions and lecture slides for instructors are available via the web (www.cambridge.org/9780521712354)." from Amazon

How blogs and Twitter are transforming popular culture.

"A broad analysis of how issues in anonymity and privacy are influencing politics, activism, religion, and art in America and the world poses strong arguments about free speech, Internet identity, and online piracy while profiling some of the tools and organizations that have evolved on both sides of the debate." from the book

"This definitive work on the perils and promise of the social- media revolution collects writings by today's best thinkers and cultural commentators." from the book